I’m Back

Hello again! Yes, I know I’ve been gone a while but here I am, so sit back have a cup of tea or beverage of your choice and settle in because it does take me a while to get where I’m going. What got me back here is I have a friend and neighbor who every spring has these beautiful irises growing in her yard. Her aunt who lives just up the road is known world wide for her irises, she has this huge garden of irises, with bulbs that date back to 1800s in it, it’s called Bolton Gardens, I’ve just always called her The Iris Lady, so anyway, Megan(friend) has some of these flowers in her yard and this year I wanted to take some pictures of them & post them.Well, I took pictures yesterday and was going to post them on tumblr but when I went to do that several things ran thru my head, firstly but not the most import of these things was that the you post photos on tumblr wasn’t going to work for me because we all know I rather ramble on and I didn’t think that what I was going to writing wouldn’t be read by the young ones that follow me there, not that alot follow me but if I’m writing would like for it to be read. The other reason, the most important one, is that the other day Regina, one of my friends on twitter, said that I should write something because she like the blogs I wrote about my travels in London and Edinburgh last year, so here I am again. I should probably post on of the pictures I took if for no other reason than to give your ears a break.

So this is named Greatful Red, the photos really don’t do any of them justice, but you you can see why they get my attention. The Iris Lady & her family are one of the original families in Tucker where I live. Tucker is a small town about 15 miles north east of Atlanta, Georgia. I have lived here most of life as has my dad. We have a downtown Tucker with a real Main Street. Main Street has always been important to Tucker, that is where the railroad tracks are and we are a city that grew up around the railroad. Now one of the cool facts here is that Tucker sits on the Eastern Continental divide and the railroad was built on. Now the cool thing here is that all water west tracks heads into the Chattahoochee River and then into the Gulf of Mexico, all water on other side heads out to the Atlantic Ocean. Just one of those cool odd facts.

Ok, about the river name, it is thought to be a Creek word for rocks- marked, the area around the river is known to have been inhabited since 1000 BC and was the dividing line between the Creek and the Cherokee nations before the Trail of Tears happened. I would explain the Trail of Tears but that is just to sad and horrific for me to go into, a very terrible part of American history, manifest destiny, what utter shit!

Alright, now that I’ve rambled on and on I’ll leave you with a few other photos and be on my way. I’d like to thank you for stopping by and two big thank you’s in no particular order, thank you Regina for saying what I needed to hear to get me back here! And thank you to Laura who got me to remember to take phone w/camera with me on

 

my dog walks! 

This one is Starring.

This one is Hello Darkness.

This one is CanCan Red.

Thank guys, see ya soon.

About francinesplace

I like to read, draw & write. I tend to write the way I talk. I wander a bit & usually get to my point. Some times get lost & never know where I'll wind up! Come along for the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

